Taking excellent book recommendations.

15 thoughts on “Taking excellent book recommendations.”

  1. I agree with The Happy Typewriter…so many! I just read Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott; it was truly captivating and funny. Some fiction recommendations are: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer (intense and beautiful); A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan (no way to characterize this book- you just have to read it); Swamplandia! by Karen Russell (strange but fun); and The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman (romantic, heart-breaking page turner).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running is my favorite Murakami book. His detailed, casual analysis of what we’re really thinking in all these internal-nothing-much states is perfect for the topic of running. He’s like the literary ambassador of mental downtime, which I don’t appreciate so much in a 1000 page novel, but really liked in the running book.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. If you are looking for really gripping, well-written sci-fi and fantasy with strong character development–which your zombies & Harry Potter etc. makes me think maybe you are–I would recommend The Broken Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin, The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi, and Altered Carbon by Richard K. Morgan. All have a fair amount of sex, just warning you! Also, Hild by Nicola Griffith is a stunning fantasy novel, though has more-complicated language and some words in dialect that are a little hairy to get through. For literature, based on pure total impossibility of putting the book down, I’d recommend How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, by Mohsin Hamid. And if you want to read something serious, non-fiction and also absurdly gripping, Guantanamo Diary, by Mohamedou Ould Slahi is a current best-seller written by a current detainee. It’s hair-raising but not as depressing as it sounds like it would be. Reviews of a few of these exist on my blog, http://www.anthologyofclouds.com.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hello!
    I definitely suggest Harry Potter. I didn’t start reading them until a couple of years ago and I fell in love.

    Other suggestions along the fantasy line are “The Name of the Wind” and its sequel “Wise Man’s Fear” by Patrick Rothfuss. Super interesting and well written. So much fabulous detail. I just finished “The Lies of Locke Lamora” by Scott Lynch and really enjoyed it. It’s fast moving and fun. I’m now reading its sequel, “Red Seas Under Red Skies”.

    If you want something of a different vein, I also enjoy Kate Morton’s work. And, as was said above, anything by Neil Gaiman. 🙂

    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve recently read: “The Golem & the Jinni” by Helene Wecker, “Burial Rites” by Hannah Kent (both are historical fiction which is why I liked them); “Big Little Lies” by Liane Moriarty (nice palate cleansing novel); The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo (read as part of a YA reading challenge for work). Have you tried Goodreads.com? I get a lot of my reading recommendations from them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

